BOHStack Free Calculators

POS Offline Mode Compared: Card Limits and Upload Deadlines on Toast and Square (2026)

✓ Rates checked against primary sources US By BOHStack Editorial Team · Updated

Affiliate links are marked “sponsored”. How we make money.

30-Second Executive Verdict

Buy Square for Restaurants if…

8.5/10

Venues that want hard, documented limits: a per-transaction cap and a clear 72-hour expiry.

From US$0 Free; Plus US$49/location

Check Square for Restaurants pricing

Choose Toast if…

8.5/10

Busy full-service and quick-service rooms that want staff to keep taking cards and send big checks to a manager.

From US$0 Starter Kit; POS plan US$69/mo

Check Toast pricing

Interactive calculator

Flat-rate (Square) vs interchange-plus contract: monthly cost

Interchange-plus quote (your numbers)

Transactions / month

1,579

Square effective rate

3.21%

processing only

Square all-in / month

US$1,978

Contract all-in / month

US$1,651

effective 2.46% processing

Contract saves per year

US$3,926

Formula & assumptions

Square fees use published rates: US (Square Free) in-person 2.6% + 15¢, online 3.3% + 30¢; AU in-person 1.6%, online 2.2% (sellers signed up from 30 May 2024). Source: squareup.com/us/en/payments/our-fees and squareup.com/au/en/pricing.

Transactions = volume ÷ average ticket. Interchange-plus = volume × (blended interchange % + processor markup %) + transactions × per-transaction fee.

Assumptions you control: blended interchange (default 1.9% US is a rough mixed debit/credit card-present estimate; AU interchange is far lower, try 0.5–0.8%), markup, software subscription and hardware costs. Toast and Lightspeed do not publish one fixed rate, so enter the numbers from your own quote. Hardware is straight-line amortised over the months you set. Early-termination fees, chargebacks, PCI fees and tax are not included.

Open the full POS Processing Fee Calculator: Flat-Rate vs Interchange-Plus with methodology and FAQ →

Spec comparison

FeatureSquare for RestaurantsToastWeight
Per-transaction offline limitUS$1–US$50,000, set per mode (blocks above)Optional limit; above it needs manager approval (excludes tip)90%
Upload deadlineExpires after 72 h; 24 h recommendedWithin 3 days recommended, ideally 24 h85%
Offline session length24 h on Readers and Stand, then reconnectNot stated50%
Not available offlineManual entry, Tap to Pay, gift cards, Afterpay, Cash App PayNew card pre-authorizations60%

Both Toast and Square keep taking cards when the internet drops, but the risk is yours: any card that declines later is lost money. Square gives you a hard per-transaction cap and a strict 72-hour expiry; Toast gives you a soft limit that sends bigger checks to a manager.

How we compared them

We read Square’s US Support Center article on offline payments and Toast’s Platform Guide page on offline card payments on 4 November 2026. We have not pulled the network on live devices for this article, so there are no timing or failure-rate numbers here.

Offline rules side by side

RuleSquareToast
Turn onDashboard: Settings > Device management > Modes > Offline paymentsToast Web: Finance > Settings > Payment options
Per-transaction limitUS$1 – US$50,000Optional; above it needs manager approval
Tip counted in limitNot statedNo
Who can overrideNot statedOffline/Background Credit Card Processing permission; 6.3 Payments Setup can switch mode at the POS
Offline session24 hNot stated
Upload deadline72 h hard expiry (24 h advised)Within 3 days advised, ideally 24 h
FeesSame as onlineNot stated

Square’s 24-hour offline session applies to Square Reader (2nd gen and 1st gen v3) and Square Stand. Square Register, Terminal and Handheld have the 72-hour upload window. Older Readers (1st gen v1 and v2) and Terminal used through Terminal API cannot take offline payments.

Square says offline payments will be turned on automatically on all devices from April 2026 unless you opted out. Check your settings now so you know what your team will see.

Things that break offline

  • Square: manual card entry, Tap to Pay on iPhone and Android, Square Gift Cards, Afterpay, Cash App Pay and EBT. Online orders may not reach the POS. Loyalty points must be added by hand later, and close-of-day reports are not supported. Signing out, switching modes or locations, or a factory reset permanently loses pending payments.
  • Toast: new card pre-authorizations do not work, but cards pre-authorized before the drop still work. Toast captures card payments every night after closeout; if you are still offline near that time, call Toast support to pause auto-capture so tips can be added first.

Choosing a limit

Set the limit near your largest normal check. A cafe with a US$25 average check might cap at US$100. A steakhouse might set US$400 and have a manager approve larger tables on Toast. If one large offline check declines, you lose the whole amount, not just the fee. Use the fee calculator above to see what processing costs you on a normal day.

See Square for Restaurants · See Toast

Sources

FAQ

Who pays if an offline card payment is declined?+

You do, on both systems. Square says you are responsible for expired, declined or disputed offline payments and gets no decline alerts while offline. Toast says the same and notes payments can be denied once the device is back online.

What is Square's offline payment limit?+

You set a maximum per transaction between US$1 and US$50,000 in Square Dashboard modes or the POS app. Payments must upload within 72 hours or they expire and cannot be recovered.

Can a Toast server take a large card payment offline?+

Only up to the Transaction Limit you set, which excludes gratuity. Above that it needs manager approval, and the limit does not apply to staff with the Offline/Background Credit Card Processing permission.

Do offline payments cost more in fees?+

Square says your normal processing fees apply to offline payments. Toast's offline page does not mention a different rate.

Related calculators

About the author: BOHStack Editorial Team

Placeholder byline: BOHStack research is currently published under the editorial team name. Articles are compiled from vendor pricing pages, published contracts and government sources, with check dates listed. We have not run hands-on tests of the products reviewed.

How we research · Editorial policy · Report an error